murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stinky songs of redemption

Had my first WTF experience on the el last night. I�ve only been here about 6 months, so my exposure to all the freakazoids in Chi-town has been fairly limited. I think my freak-cherry was almost popped last night though and I expanded my repertoire.

I was hopping on the train when this random homeless guy started swinging his bag around and screaming for help. I figured he was nuts and that he just wanted some attention, so ignored him for the most part. He managed to make it onto the train and promptly started screaming for more help and asking for Jesus Christ to protect him. As it was a Wednesday evening, Jesus wasn't available to be in our particular car, but a few clean cut polite young 15 year boys were -> and much hilarity ensued forthwith. So for the next 5 minutes, this guy screamed and yelled, begging for them to protect him and for Jesus to save him. They kept looking at me helplessly and trying to ignore him. This was no easy feat since he was essentially screaming in their faces.

Then, the weirdest thing happened. The homeless guy said he was going to sing for them. I could almost feel everyone on the train mentally roll their eyes and focus on something else. But when he opened his mouth, he was actually good. Like...REALLY good. His first song was Stevie Wonder�s My Cherie Amour. He switched to some Lionel Ritchey, and then finished off with the Temptations' "My Girl".

Now, I am kind of a snob when it comes to people singing a-capella. It's hard to do, and most people I know that do it end up going flat, or sharp and by the end of the song, sound horrible. The part I hate most is they usually don�t know they are going flat or sharp, and can�t understand my look of horror once the song is over. Like *I�m* the asshole because their singing is about as enjoyable as a rectal thermometer. Anyway, this guy had almost perfect pitch and just kept going and going. He knew a ton of songs, and executed all but one flawlessly. At one point, I actually turned my IPOD *off* so I could listen to him instead - although I had to make it look like I wasn't listening. Once people made eye contact with him, he went and sat next to them and got friendly and dedicated songs to them. And he was stinky.

I am excited to see what kind of other talented nut balls I will encounter here in Chicago.

I hope to see talented stinky guy again soon. Maybe next time I will make some requests.

12:08 p.m. - 2006-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten