murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Politcally Correct Anus

I was chatting with a group of friends this past weekend, and the issue of political correctness was raised. We were speaking specifically about the job of being a flight attendant in Singapore and other southeast Asian countries. It is apparently quite the coveted job for a woman, and one must be a beautiful woman to hold such a role. The less attractive ones are apparently "kept on the ground" and only the modelesque ones are allowed in the air. Something to do with the culture and people assiociating a pleasing face with their flight and the airline. We remarked at how un-PC that was and I exclaimed "God! How refreshing!" An airline that isnt afraid to do what it wants at the risk of offending people. It obviously did some kind of cost benefit analysis and found that hot chicks sell.

I HATE being PC. I HATE having to act a certain way to produce an image that is least offensive. I HATE having to censor my lanugage or use made up words or non traditional words because Rajat Ayer down the hall might get offended when I say Merry Christmas to someone whom I know celebrates the holiday. Look. Look at that. Even in typing up my disdain for it, I said it in a way that was less offensive. And thus I continue the dance. I could have said "fellow christian" but instead I said "someone whom I know celebrates the holiday." Hmm, lets try that again PC free.

Take 2: I HATE being PC. I HATE having to act a certain way to produce an image that is least offensive. I HATE having to censor my lanugage or use made up or non traditional words because Rajat Ayer down the hall might get offended when I say Merry Christmas to some fly Christian mamas that like to throw down with J-unit. (booming echoing voice) The LORD OF THE UNIVERSE AND DESTRUCTOR OF ALL NON BELIEVERS!!!

Ok, maybe that was a wee bit over the top and rediculous, but it sure felt good to say something that wasn't PC. :)

I want a world where everyone can say whatever the they want, and let Rajat and his crew fend for themselves, and I will fend for myself. If I say Merry Christmas and spread christmas cheer and tape angels (not persons with flight capabilities) and crap all over the office, I want a world where Rajat sees it, asks a few questions if he has them, and then moves on. If he happens to slap a cut out saree onto my angel, or draw a mustache on one in silent protest, whatever. Its funny. As long as he rembeers that (booming echoing voice) THE NON BELIEVERS WILL BE DESTROYED IN A FIERY PIT IN THE 7TH CIRCLE OF HELL. Ok, kidding again....

Seriously, I want Rajat to understand that I am not placing the angel on the window to piss him off, I am doing it because I want to celebrate Christmas. It's not ABOUT him, and I wish more people realized that kind of thing. In that same vein, I want Rajat to feel free to come back at me with a big fat Happy Duvali and hand me some rose water flavored butter-based snacks with gold flecks, some Chai Tea, light some candles, and fly his kite on the rooftop or something. If he wants to shove a picture of his family God on his desk and give it part of his lunch, I dont give a crap. As long as his behavior is within the realm or normal human behavior (no devil worshipping or puppy killing), I couldn't care less.

Yeah that's right all you devil worshipers. Suck it.

This is fun...

Anyway, my point is, I think very few people in this world set out to explicitly offend other groups (except maybe me in that last statement). I say this with much fervor, passion, and little to no research to back it. :) It just doesn't seem like human nature to TRY to piss people off. I think we of the postmodern age all just want to live our lives, create some meaning, do our own thing our own way, and for the most part, be left alone. Why can't those that are offended say "Hey that sucked, oh well, they probably didn't mean to hurt me specifically" and move freakin' on? Why do they run out and get lawyers and sue the pants off of some mom and pop sandwhich shop down the street that sells Mickey sandwhiches that are "offensive to Irish people and 3 ft. tall mice from Orlando" just to put the sandwhich place out of business so some a-hole who had one irish grandparent that was hung for being an a-hole can feel better about being Irish? Phew...

Ok, that *may* not have really happened, but you know the kind of stuff I am talking about. Morons that just want some attention, or some ill gotten cash, and want everyone to be "nice and happy and no one offended." Sigh.

And now for an emotion free anaylsis: I totally get that the issue of politically correct language points to bigger issues about self esteem, self actualization, and how certain words in a language are thought to shape the way we percieve the world at a fundamental level. Calling someone a chairman vs. a chairperson subsconsciously shapes how we look at the world and creates biases that we may not even realize we have.

Maybe next time I will get into this with more depth and less emotion.

- MS is going to buy a Mickey sandwhich

9:03 a.m. - 2006-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten