murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get off my lawn!

I was sniffing around on myspace last night again and was looking at my highschool and any recently added folk. Anyone who uses myspace knows that you essentially have to click on everyone you see in order to learn more about them. I saw someone called sexkitten86 and was immediately intrigued. 1.) because I dont know anyone who graduated in '86 and was interested to know her story, and 2.) it was such a stupid name, I figured there had to be a good story behind it. Upon clicking on sexkitten86s link, I was surprised to see that one of her interests and favorite pasttimes was sexual experimentation. Ok...to each his own I guess, right? Moving on, "sex" had a lot of her pics posted, so I looked at them and she looked kinda young. These were obviously her class photos though, so I thought perhaps they are up there for old time's sake. So, moving on and checking further around her profile, I came to find that she is 19 years old. Like...now. So the '86 wasnt her graduation year, but probably more like her BIRTH year. Aye carumba... Anyway, far be it from me to be horrified at a 19 year old girl essentially selling herself online, but...well actually it was pretty gross. Sue me. Seriously, what kind of guy does she think she will attract with her profile? I've only been on this myspace thing for a few weeks, but my guess is that Prince Charming aint prowling these nodes in search of his little sex kitten.

(stepping onto soap box)

So...sex sells. Any retard on the street can tell you that. Its a bit clich�, but its been true since we were running around banging rocks on other rocks for fun. Lately though, doesnt it just seem to be getting more intense? Sex is everywhere in varying degrees of subtlety, of course. Personally I actually enjoy some of the ads I see that are subtle sexual suggestions. You know the ones, where there is something sexy about it, but its so round-about you cant quite put your finger on it? I enjoy picking them apart, trying to figure out who they are targeting, and what veiled message or messages they are trying to communicate. Then there is the less subtle stuff. I guess they get the point across, but its just so in your face. Maybe its a girl vs. guy thing again. Maybe I am just the uptight one and everyone else digs this stuff. I don't know. Maybe I am just getting old and this is my first taste of Back in *my* day (insert inflated truism)

Remember when Victorias Secret was kinda classy?? One could go in and buy a sexy, yet refined piece of lingerie AND enjoy the whole store experience while buying it. Helpful store clerks that didnt work on commission and the clothing was generally quality made stuff that lasted. Compare that to present day when, upon walking in the shopper is greated with techno music and sales people pouncing for your jugular. Everything towards the front of the store is obviously targeted at young girls all done up in extreme colors and patterns to pull them into the store. Crotchless this and push up that. All hot pink with fur and tassles. Yep, all the class sucked RIGHT out and transformed into a veritable Paris Hilton slutfest. And really why does a 12 year old girl need a hot pink thong with rhinestones on the crotch?

Hey and remember when the Real World had interesting people on it? With lives? And goals? And a clue? In the beginning it was about people with goals, dreams, and real issues and lives trying to live together and the struggles that ensued. Compared to todays Real World, where the struggles and issues have been reduced to which roommate is going to hook up with which other roommate when and for how long. Oh and which roommate is hung over and has an eating disorder. But thats another blog post.

Sigh. Maybe I am just getting old and bitter?

Im going to leave now and head home. In the snow. Uphill. Both ways. With no shoes. Where bread costs a dime, and gas is 2 bits!

-MS out


8:59 a.m. - 2006-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten