murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random Microsoft Musings

It's summertime, and more and more folks at work are taking off for vacation - mostly upper management on their 3 week long treks, which seems to have a nice "I don't have anything to do now" trickle down effect on those below. And thusly, yours truly doesn't have a lot on her plate right now. At times like these, I find myself getting kind of introspective about my life in the long term, and wondering if I should use this time to study up for the GRE and go back to school to get my masters in a social science or writing or something. It's usually a fairly predictable pattern - I research all the GRE stuff, maybe order a book or two, search for some schools that have programs I like, shout expletives to the good lord above about tuition rates these days.... all of which is usually followed by a surge at work thus plunging me underwater again with things to do. Wash. Rinse. Repeat.

Maybe thinking about school just calms my mind a little and helps assuage the guilt Microsoft pounded into my head around not being constantly busy. It's secret mission statement "recruiting workaholics from all over the world to put a PC in every home....". Free time meant you were screwing up. Something was wrong. Start job searchin' buddy, there's no place for your relaxed arse around these parts. If you weren't eating lunch at your desk or in a meeting, you must have asked for less work to deal with your ulcer or something.

I am slowly re-learning that the rest of the world doesn't necessarily function like that, and that the pace at which Microsoft runs is its way of staying on top and being cutting edge. If the time commitment is too much for you, there are 1500 masochists lined up desperate to take your place and gleefully sacrifice their souls to the monolith.

I wish I could just be like my dog. Wake up, poop, pee, chew on a chair. Maybe have a nap. Look at stuff. Sniff some things. Nap. Pee. Sleep.

Such will be my heaven.

-MS is shedding her winter coat

12:03 p.m. - 2006-07-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten