murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kung Fu 2 : Murphy-Slaw 0

HolyMaryMotherofGod. I did not know my hips and thighs could hurt like this. It's not that they haven't ever hurt WORSE than this....because they HAVE, but they have definately never hurt in this WAY before. The pain is concentrated in my hips and the muscles radiating out from them into my thighs. This comes from countless minutes of standing in an isometric squat colorfully called "horse stance" in kung-fu-ish. (me=wordsmith).

Yesterday was kung fu class #2 for me. There were a few more folks in the class than my first, and each was far more advanced than I. The beginning of class is very open and "organic" and everyone is practicing all their moves and stuff they have learned, jumping all over the place and confusing predators or something. There were a lot of limbs and things flying around and I found myself having a really hard time concentrating on what I was doing. I felt as if I were in a room full of human instruments, and they were all warming up prior to a symphony of pain. .....isn't that a band name or something?

Anyway, so Sifu taught me a few new stretches and a couple of new stances. Which I practiced again and again and again, and which was surprisingly hard with other people in the class doing unrelated things. Did I mention how weird it is that I get so sweaty from just standing still? Granted I am putting all of my weight on one foot and crouching most of the time, which indeed is a formula for much sweatiness and funk - but....I mean I am not running or anything! How is that possible? My whole world and sense of normalcy is upsidedown right now. Dogs and cats living together! (some of you will get that one the way home...)

The good thing is I will be WAY more flexible in a few months. I think I may be able to wrap my legs around my head in 3 months. And hey! Who doesn't need THAT on their resume? :)

-MS's legs sez: *cough* *cough* Kill.us.

11:17 a.m. - 2006-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten