murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Food paradigm

I was at the store yesterday (yes, yes I go often - let's just accept that and move on shall we? :)) and saw that they had already set out some seasonal/holiday food stuffs. "Pumpkin ale" to be exact. And it made me think, I both look forward to, and also rely on seasonal food promotional stuff to shape my year. The seasons are not only kicked off by temperature and foliage changes, but also (for me) an acknowledgement and kind of general expectation of seasonal food stuffs being available for purchase. Is that odd? Maybe. I think it's interesting that I see my life through this "food prism", and wonder if other people do it as much as I do. What would my year be like without the seasonal stuff associated with holidays? Or without holidays associated with seasons? Most of our holidays were originally created to give our lives meaning in some context depending on the culture, and (I think) on some level give us something to look forward to each year. How interesting that food has become an extension of that meaning in some societies. Is food evolving into a way to create meaning in cultures that can afford it? Or has it always been that way, and I am just now articulating it to myself? Any anthropologists in the hiz-ouse care to comment? :)


Things I am looking forward to seeing in stores this fall:

*Apple Cider (hot or cold)
*Pumpkin Lattes @ Starbucks - I've never actually gotten one since the caloric content in one could sustain a small corp of marines for a few days, but I like knowing I have the option. :)
*Apples - so.many.varieties.can't.choose
*Pumpkin beer - kind of scared of this one, but again like having the choice
*Pumpkin Pie - mmmmmmmm pie
*Applie Pie - mmmmmm pie
*Corn - decorative only
*Halloween Candy - duh


-MS doesn't have a witty ending today


10:21 a.m. - 2006-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten