murphy-slaw's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WHO DOES THAT?!?!?

So D got a call today from a guy whose friend is getting married next weekend. And said friend's fiance's wedding dress was STOLEN. STOLEN. Can you believe that? WHO DOES THAT?!?!?!!? Apparently they took her checkbook too and have been forging her signature all over town and have spent most of her money.



Gah.



Maybe it's just cuz I am one of those married chicks, and I remember how pivotal the dress was in my wedding, but this news REALLY pissed me off.



So D's friend was calling around on this girl's behalf trying to FIND HER A DRESS. Mine was in question since we are close in size, and I was asked nicely to consider letting her borrow it. We asked for some time to think about it.



Man. What a decision. I mean, it's not like I am deciding whether I want to give her a kidney or anything but.....well it is actually somewhat comparable to me. At the risk of sounding superficial and psycho-girlie.... my dress was a big frickin' deal, and was so so special to me. When I put it on, I knew. I just knew it was THE dress. And it was only the 3rd or 4th one I tried on too. I paid a bundle to have it all preserved and stuff after the wedding in a life sized barbie doll box so my future daughter would have the option of wearing it should she so choose. Either that or I could make a really pimp quilt. :)



So anyway, it got me thinking. If I were in the same situation as this girl is in, I know I would be at my wit's end looking for something as a stand in, and would be so amazingly grateful to someone who'd even consider lending me their dress.




....



So, I told them "yes"



I haven't heard anything back about it, so maybe she found something else. I am a little nervous since she would likely have to get it altered a little, but am still happy to help. I'm also SO PISSED on her behalf.



God, who STEALS A WEDDING DRESS?!!?




-MS sez: "So.pissed.off."

12:44 p.m. - 2006-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pinkytusk
bethany9
haloaskew
chicagojo
smartypants
trancejen
kungfukitten